Scientific Advisory Board

Hatteras has an outstanding scientific advisory board chaired by Herb Boyer, the founder of Genentech, and composed of leading scientists in their respective fields:

  • Herb Boyer, PhD, Co-Founder of Genentech, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco
  • Joseph DeSimone, Director, Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise; Chancellor’s Eminent Professor of Chemistry, UNC; William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, NCSU
  • Richard A. Flavell, PhD, FRS, Sterling Professor of Immunobiology; Chair, Department of Immunobiology; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Nancy Hutson, PhD, Former head of Global R&D and Director of Groton Laboratories at Pfizer
  • Arnold Levine, PhD, Professor of Systems Biology, Institute for Advanced Study, former President and CEO of Rockefeller University
  • Martin J. Murphy, Jr., MD, Peer-reviewed scientist, professor, editor and consultant, convener of the CEO Roundtable on Cancer, founder and former CEO of the Hipple Cancer Research Center
  • James Powell, MD, Pathologist, founder of LabCorp and Tripath
  • Charlie Sanders, MD, Cardiologist, former CEO of Glaxo and former Head of Massachusetts General Hospital